6pm Friday 1st Aug National Design and Craft Gallery

Join use for a discussion into the potential of co-operation, craft and industry to sustain rural economies introduced by lead artist Michelle Browne with one of three residency designers/craftmakers Rosie O’Reilly and hosts Deirdre O’Mahony, Sarah Lincoln and Mollie Anna King.

Mollie Anna King completed an M.F.A in Sculpture at the Slade School of Art in 2013. She is recipient of the Barto dos Santos Memorial Award and the Land Securities award. She is currently collaborating with Domestic Godless as a guest artist.

Sarah Lincoln is a visual artist and potter based in Ardmore, Co. Waterford.Her work has been exhibited most recently at Sirius Arts’ Sustainable Futures exhibition and through collaborative projects such as Handling Fossils (2017), and How we Float (2016).

Deirdre O’Mahony’s art practice is grounded in collaborative engagements with different rural publics and contexts. She has been commissioned to make numerous national and international public art projects, most recently a film installation, The Persistent Return, commissioned by Workhouse Union and co-produced by VISUAL Carlow.

Rosie O’Reilly is an artist and designer. She most recently exhibited and performed thrown up by the sea for Guest Appearance, The Museum Building TCD (April 2018). She holds an MA in Art and Research Collaboration (ARC) IADT (2018).

Michelle Browne is a visual artist, curator and lecturer based in Dublin. She is the lead artist for the Bring Your Own Chair Project.

Part of the Bring Your Own chair residency programme delivered by Workhouse Union and the Design and Craft Council of Ireland. Bring Your Own Chair is a portrait of 12 rural towns in the South-East region led by visual artist Michelle Browne and produced by Workhouse Union. Bring Your Own Chair is funded by the Arts Council Ireland Making Great Art Work – Open Call Award and with further support from Create Ireland / Collaborative Arts Partnership Programme, Design & Crafts Council of Ireland, Waterford Arts Office / Waterford Council, Kilkenny County Council / Kilkenny Arts Office, Wexford Arts Office / County Wexford, Kilkenny LEADER Partnership and CreativeIrl.